Society of American Foresters

Northwest Regions


A View of Scandinavian Forestry Cooperatives


The Oregon Woodland Cooperative (OWC), Washington Co. Small Woodlands Association (WCSWA) and Oregon State University Forestry & Natural Resources Extension (FNR Extension) have organized a tour to Scandinavia especially for small woodland owners, forestry professionals and forest products producers. Guided by experienced foresters, this educational tour will focus on private forestry in Sweden and Norway and the role of woodland owner cooperatives.


OSAF 2014 Award Winners

Forestry Appreciation Award – Doug Robertson, OSU Outstanding Student Award – Jessica Kessinger, Community College Outstanding Student Award – Serena Burdick, MHCC, Chapter Achievement Award – Umpqua Chapter, Lifetime Achievement Award – Dr. Harold ‘Hal’ Salwasser, Forester of the Year Award – Dave Cramsey

Fire Without Borders: Observations, Experiences, and Lessons Learned from the 36-Pit Fire

May 29th, 2015 8:30am—4:00pm PST The field tour will begin and end at Timber Park in Estacada to gather participants and board vans/buses.

Featured topics include: silviculture, stand management, fuels management, and what was observed/learned about fire behavior in the different forest types and management units across both public and private land ownership.

"Do Good Things" with the Oregon Special Projects Fund!

The OSAF executive committee agrees: we want our members to go out into the community and “do good things" to support the mission of the Society of American Foresters.  If you have a forestry-related idea and need a few dollars to make it happen, the Oregon Special Projects Fund will help you quickly and easily secure the financial support you need so you can make your project idea a reality.  The Oregon Special Projects fund (OSPF) was started back in 2010.